Villanova University’s 17th Annual Conference in Philosophy: Critical Theories

Posted: 12 de December de 2011 by Fernando Furtado in Call for Papers, Event

Villanova University
17th Annual Conference in Philosophy

Critical Theories

March 30-31, 2012

Keynote Speaker: Nancy Fraser
Henry A. and Louise Loeb Professor of Political & Social Science, New
School for Social Research

As the “Occupy X” movements spread across the United States and
resistance movements continue in the Middle East, we recognize the
pressing need for continued engagement with critical theory in it
myriad forms. Since its inception in the 1920s, critical theory has
sought to interrogate oppressive structures and imagine possibilities
for human emancipation. During the present age of global capital and
neoliberal governance, however, resistance has often appeared futile.
But the economic crises of the 21st century have reawakened the call
for critique both in theory and practice. As global political
conditions radically shift and new modes of oppression and resistance
materialize, examining historical iterations of critical theory and
various contemporary critical theories appears ever more urgent.

We are accepting submissions on topics including, but not limited to,
the idea, method, and definition of “critique”; ideology;
emancipation; discourse and the public sphere; problems and questions
of modernity and Enlightenment; dialectics and materialism;
redistribution and recognition; politics and the (im)possibility of
democracy; and the relationship between critical theory and
aesthetics, deconstruction, and other forms of theory (e.g.,
sociology, postcolonial theory, queer theory, feminism, and race
theory). Possible figures include but are not limited to the
following: Karl Marx, Herbert Marcuse, Theodor Adorno, Walter
Benjamin, Max Horkheimer, Jürgen Habermas, Allison Jaggar, Karl-Otto
Apel, Cornelius Castoriadis, Hannah Arendt, Charles Mills, Richard
Rorty, Max Weber, Mikhail Bakhtin, Enrique Dussel, Angela Davis, Axel
Honneth, Iris Marion Young, Seyla Benhabib, Michel Foucault, Louis
Althusser, Jean Baudrillard, Paulo Friere, Pierre Bourdieu, Judith
Butler, Erich Fromm, Guy Debord, Giorgio Agamben, Jacques Rancière,
Johann Löwenthal, Paul Ricoeur.

We encourage submissions from faculty members, graduate students, and
independent scholars of abstracts (300-500 words) or papers (3,000 to
4,000 words). Please format these for blind review, including a cover
sheet with name, contact details, institutional affiliation, and paper

Please email your submissions or any questions you may have to:

The deadline for submission is February 1, 2012.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s